OBU Debate now ranked number one in the nation

 Public Release

The Oklahoma Baptist University Debate team now boasts a national number one title.

OKBU competed in its third consecutive virtual debate tournament last weekend (Oct 23-24) hosted by South East Arkansas College. 

The team competed in the International Public Debate Association, and is now ranked number one in the nation. 

The team also posted its third consecutive second-place finish and celebrated the first individual division champion of the year in Violet Webber the Junior Varsity champion. 

Morgan Martin also finished as a quarterfinalist in JV. 

In the novice division, Emily Vann, Ayssa Rodgers, Imani Jackson, Ryanne Nelson, and Caitlin Hurlbut finished as Octofinalist with Samuel Peek and Sydney Collier finishing as quarterfinalist. 

Samuel Peek, Caitlin Hurlbut and Ryanne Nelson also earned first through third best speaker awards. 

The team will compete next at a virtual tournament hosted by Louisiana State University Shreveport Nov 7-8. 

Right Top: 

From left to right back row: Jade Stauffer, Caitlin Hurlbut, Sydney Collier, Samuel Peek, Jacob Bryan. 

Middle row: Morgan Martin, Mitch Sadler, Alyssa Rodgers, Emma Busby, Josh Morgan. 

Front row: Violet Webber, Ryanne Nelson, Imani Jackson, Emilie Vann, Scot Loyd.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: